Posts Tagged ‘arrakis records’

End of the Mayan Calendar: BBR – 2013

Posted by: Yameen on December 21st, 2012 in Thangs

Tags: , , , , , ,

Big Brother Resistance - 2013

Here’s a track I produced and recorded with Philadelphia’s BBR (Big Brother Resistance) back in 1999.

The track is all about what layes beyond the fabled end of the Mayan Calendar: December 21st, 2012 (which happens to be today’s date, as I post this).

The song was the very first release on Arrakis Records, printed on vinyl 12″ in 2000. More information at Discogs. Song embedded below (download available):

Twisted Metal 1 featuring Digs Darklighter

Posted by: Yameen on June 18th, 2012 in Thangs

Tags: , , , , ,

Here’s a track I did with Philly’s own Digs Darklighter from 2002. It was featured on the Arrakis Records, The Spice compilation. Embed and download link below:

» Download the MP3 by clicking here (320kbps, 89bpm, 9.8M)

BBR Sessions (1998-1999) – Free Album Download

Posted by: Yameen on January 22nd, 2011 in Thangs

Tags: , , , , ,

Between 1998-1999, I was a member of the Philadelphia-based group, BBR: Big Brother Resistance. We were a politically charged and socially-minded hiphop group focusing strongly on technology, the media, politics, and the control and abuse of information by corrupt corporations.

It was me on production as Binyameen and occasionally “Stinke”, and MCs Tim T and PCP. I produced all of the tracks and had a lot of “firsts” with the crew: First time in my own recording session in a real studio; first time on vinyl; first time paying my share of the rent with beats; first music video…It was a pretty prolific one or two years to be honest.

BBR would dissolve in 2000 but the label bandmate PCP created to publish the BBR music would continue well into the new milenium. That label was Arrakis Records and it was part of the Philly indie hiphop movement of the late 90′s and early 2000′s.

All that said though, I’d like to share the 15 track BBR Sessions as a free MP3 download:

» Download: The BBR Sessions (1998-1999) MP3 Album (320kbps, 105M)

Tracklist follows:

01. The 2nd Revolution
02. 2013
03. Briz Beat
04. The Girl Next Door
05. Goin Out to The Censors
06. Let Me Be
07. Newspeak
08. Porn Styles
09. Propa
10. Quake
11. Stereo Correct
12. Tee’s Break
13. Transient Groove
14. Verbal Leviathan
15. Whale Beat